• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Wiring Conundrum

malexalex

Ok, so I've decided that it's time to completely re-do the wiring in my 1970 spitfire mk3, (actually a small electrical fire decided it but oh well)... luckily, brand new harnesses are fairly easy to find so I won't have to frig around with a used one... The only question is, should I attempt to do this myself. I have no experience with this sort of thing and no great deal of electrical knowledge... So what do you think, is this a job for a noob or should I shell out the cash for a pro to do it? Also, if I do attempt it, what tools/equipment will I need? Thanks,

-Alex

DNK

Great Pumpkin
Country flag
Piece of cake. It is a good way to learn about your wiring. I wouls wait until winter if it is not your daily driver. Notes and photos help. It might end up looking like this:

DASHCLOSEUP60.jpg

crj7driver

Jedi Trainee
It might not be the best to cut your electrical teeth on, due to all the ground possibilities. But you don't learn till you try so if you are very careful when it comes time to checking the wiring harness out for false grounds you should be OK. Just read and ask questions before putting power to the system and pick up a book or two on automotive wiring.

Good luck

Also, go here
https://stores.homestead.com/ez2wire/Page.bok?template=wiringfaq

and download the pdf file for the installation of wiring harness. It will give you a good idea of what is involved. You might be using a spitfire specific harness, but all of the electrical principals still apply.

martx-5

Yoda
Country flag