• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Rebushing HS2 Carb throttle shafts

TexasSprite

Jedi Hopeful
Has anyone put bushings into SU HS2 Carb bodies? I have a perfectly functional set on my Bugeye, but have a box of spares that need some TLC. This appears to be an interesting machining challenge. For tooling, I have a accurate South Bend Lathe that I thought to use (with a jig) to bore and ream the holes for the bushings. As as an amateur machinist, I always appreciate any technical info or how-tos.

One of the spare bodies already had the job done with Teflon bushings, so is that the material of choice? On the other hand, the carb kit I got from Burlen Fuel Systems (https://www.sucarb.co.uk/) came with two 5/16" OD X .250 ID metal bushings that are supposedly teflon coated. In addition, The carbs on my car were rebushed with brass or bronze (can't really tell which). I guess there are a lot of materials that could work.