• Hey Guest!
    BCF is a resource offered at no cost to the Little British Car community. We do not require you to pay to play here. However, if you find BCF helpful, appreciate no pop up ads, and you want to ensure we stay online - Please support us with an "optional" low-cost (less than many car club dues) member upgrade. There are some benefits to upgrading!
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Oh no! More German Cars!?!?

Bret

Yoda
Ok is there something wrong with me? Quick, someone check my Vitals?

Now I'm not an expert or all that versed on the Bavarian Motor Works. But by shear happenstance I was visiting on a work related mater with some associates and we decided to take a lunch break. I offered to drive us in my Truck but we elected to go in another guy’s 2000 BMW 740i.

Now I’d seen them for years and always liked the styling (better than the replacements anyway) and I loved the one they used in the Bond film “Tomorrow Never Dies”.

Overall impression - for a sedan I was pretty impressed with the overall package. Loved the interior and OMG that V8! I can’t imagen what it’d be to drive the later version of the 740iL with the V12.

A long time back I was considering an older XJ6 or a more newer XJ8. But while I don’t know if I’d ever get a BMW 740i, I must admit if I was in the market for a used family sedan as a daily driver & weekend duties – I’d certainly consider one of these.

Steve_S

Yoda
I've owned a 7-Series. Lovely cars, but about as boring as you can imagine. It's a big, heavy, quiet, smooth, luxurious family sedan. Perhaps the best highway car you could hope for, but not much for excitement. I enjoyed mine greatly on the open road, but I don't miss it.

OP
Bret

Bret

Yoda
Point taken Steve.

But when compaired to the last sedan I owned (a 2000 Dodge Intrepid) this BMW is downright sexy.