• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Guys...What is this on a HD8???

AH_3000

I know - probably an easy question, but the "thing" I've marked on the picture of my engine bay, is a small "pipe" from my aft HD8 carburettor. I've seen pictures of engine bays, where this is attached to a thin copper pipe, which ends...where??

I'm new at this, but I'm determined to learn...from you :smile:!! My 1967 Mk III runs pretty good, but there has to be a purpose for this thing...what? Should I connect it somewhere? Just been to the SU page but no answers there...

Best Regards

Chris

SWEDEN

Attachments

• 21327.jpg
    21327.jpg
    38 KB · Views: 473
D

Deleted member 8987

small pipe......off a vacuum source.....hard to tell by the photo, as my glasses seem to be suddenly out of focus, but the description must be vacuum advance line to the distributor, without looking.

Wish I could see it.

AUSMHLY

Obi Wan
Country flag
Hi Chris,

Good eye.
That's the vacuum advance adaptor. It connects via a rubber tube to a long copper tube (which from the factory was painted engine green). That copper tube travels around the back of the engine and connects to the vacuum unit on the distributor.

Roger

OP
AH_3000

AH_3000

Thanks, guys!

TOC: In my ambition to show the detail clerly, I blurred the surrounding parts and made them B&W...from your post, I can understand that I didn't do a very good job :wink:!!

Roger: Nice pic's and an awesome detailing of your engine...!!
(probably one of the reasons that I blurred the picture of my engine...Not finished yet...)