• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Stall at Idle [Stop Lights, Signs, End of Drive]

mrstinson

I just picked up my 1971 Midget this Saturday /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif and I LOVE IT.

I am having some problems at low speed though. When I slow down I have to rev the engine or pull the choke to keep it engine running. The car was sitting for the last 10-15 years, the gas was already changed out and some cleaning using a gas additive.

I am thinking it may be the timing or the carbs need to be rebuilt to really clean them. Any thoughts on what may cause the problem.

btw: I am a novice (at best) with auto repair. I am just starting and may need answers to be dumbed down to my level (5th grade should be OK /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif ). So please, take it easy on me.

SANdMAN_the

the best advice i can offer (i too am a novice at this) is before you go playing with your carbs, make sure your ignition is in proper order - check the timing, points, plugs, coil and rotor/cap.

you came to the right place for answers though, the guys here are great!

john

OP
mrstinson

mrstinson

[ QUOTE ]
the best advice i can offer (i too am a novice at this) is before you go playing with your carbs, make sure your ignition is in proper order - check the timing, points, plugs, coil and rotor/cap.

you came to the right place for answers though, the guys here are great!

john

[/ QUOTE ]

I was going to check the air filter and plugs tonight. I did not think of the coilor points, but will also take a look at that, I think the coil may be an origial.

I don't know how to adjust the timing to make any changes.

Tullamore

Jedi Warrior
Country flag