• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

MGB MGB oil consumption

Carlbanan56

Country flag
Guys, I have posted quite a few times here about my problems with my granddad's 1975 MGB. I acquired the car 2 years ago, and it had been stationary since 1995. Over these two years, I have checked and replaced various parts to get the car ready for what is known as "Besiktning" in Swedish—a mandatory car inspection every 2 years. Once a car turns 50 years old and has passed inspection in the last two years, it's exempt from further inspections. Three days ago, the MG passed the inspection and became road-legal. As you can imagine, I've been enjoying driving the car that I've been working on for 2 years over the past few days. It's been super enjoyable!

As with every previous post I've made, there's always a problem, and this one might not be a simple fix... Yesterday, I took the car for its longest ride yet, about 25 km. Before setting off, I checked the oil, which was right above the minimum mark. This should have raised an alarm because the last time I checked, it was right under the maximum mark. This morning, as I was planning to take the car for another drive, I wanted to ensure the engine had enough oil... but it didn't. Check the picture; the oil level is significantly below the minimum mark.