• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

How Important Is Fuel Cooler in Air Cond. 87 XJ6?

Michael J.

Jedi Warrior
Repair Manual discusses a fuel cooler in the airconditioning circuit for an 87 XJ6, but it appears to have been removed at some point.

Is it as important on 4.2 Liter 6 cylinder cars as it is on the XJ12?

Exotexs

Jedi Knight
Country flag
I was discussing the same subject with another XJ owner; He did away with the Air Pump system, (everything related to it), and now he's going to remove the Fuel Cooler system. In my '84 XJ-6, those systems are there just like they came from the factory. My opinion is that they were installed for a reason. I am not an engineer, so trying to outguess them about their reasons for adding a Fuel Cooler or Air Pump is preposterous. It's one thing to ADD improvements like making the sidelights act like turn signals, or replacing the air filter with a K & N filter, or adding seat heaters; But it's another to start dismantling away at the integrity of the engine sub-systems. Why does the fuel need to be cooled? Only they know. It's a Jaguar after all, not a '57 Chevy.

OP
M

Michael J.

Jedi Warrior
My question has more to do with the fact that the fuel cooler is missing on this car already, rather than whether it is beneficial as a performance mod to remove it. I'm going to have to find a serviceable unit to purchase, but was curious why anyone would remove it in the first place.

Were the fuel coolers on this car prone to leaks or something?