• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Spridget Registry and bolt-nut database

drooartz

Staff member
Gold
Country flag
A little while ago there was some discussion about building a fastener database for Spridgets, that would list all the little bits that fit our cars. There was also some discussion of an online Spridget registry, since none seems to exist that we could find.

I took on the task of coming up with some software to handle this (I'm a web programmer by day). I wound up needing a similar bit of software for a work project, so I took the opportunity and wrote what is essentially a community-updatable database module for my web management software.

What this gives us is the ability to have a database table with whatever sorts of fields we like, including images and documents (like PDF files). The table is searchable, as well as filterable by specific fields. The general public can browse and search, while individual registered users can add entries and edit their own entries. Administrative users can edit any entry.

I'm interested in both of these projects, and am happy to get this up and running on my server (I've got lots of space and bandwidth). A few things, like requesting a login/password, are still a manual process, but I'll eventually get that automated. If there is enough interest, we just need to settle on the fields we want to use, and we can be going quickly.

jlaird

Great Pumpkin
Country flag
That was me Drew.

Lets start a Bugeye registery, what you say.

Not sure folks want to put email addresses, or real addresses and phone numbers but should have provision for them.