• Hey there Guest!
    If you enjoy BCF and find our forum a useful resource, if you appreciate not having ads pop up all over the place and you want to ensure we can stay online - Please consider supporting with an "optional" low-cost annual subscription.
    **Upgrade Now**
    (PS: Subscribers don't see this UGLY banner)
Tips
Tips

Importing TVR

macino62

Jedi Hopeful
Hi Folks,

I've been salivating over the Taimar Turbo for probably 10 years now (since I was in elementary school....) Anyway, I am considering attempting to import a Turbo from England. Has anybody imported a car (older than 25 years) from abroad? Also, how does the title process work, once it's in the US?

Thanks, Mike /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cheers.gif

smcmanus

Jedi Hopeful
First thing is to visit your local Indiana DMV and ask them. Laws on registration and title vary from state to state.

Good Luck
Steve

OP
macino62

macino62

Jedi Hopeful
ha, our dmv is such a cluster now. i'll admit, it's easy to register a car here, the lack of emissions, and low taxes make it nice, but i was more unsure of the federal level of red tape....

tr7andtvr

Jedi Hopeful
In alabama all you need is a bill of sale. So if you can go thru alabama? alabama is also known for a fix to a bad title.

OP
macino62

macino62

Jedi Hopeful
i've heard about alabama.....and if the indiana thing doesn't work out, then i'll definitely try that route. i'm in my initial stages of this, and i'm trying to gather as much info as i can before i get ahead of myself!

thanks!!

Grantura_MKI

Darth Vader
Gold
Country flag